Musing Mondays (#1)

Musing Mondays is a meme, started by MizB @ Should Be Reading that presents a given question for fellow bloggers to respond to each week.

This Monday’s the question is…

What do you do with the book before you start reading it?

Lately, I have been reading countless reviews before I purchase the book. This probably had something to do with a) not being able to browse through the book beforehand because of the Kindle my husband bought me for Christmas last year and b) I have been out of the loop for so long, I don’t trust myself to find a really good book unless others are/have been raving about it.

Before my Kindle and still now occasionally, I also had/have a tendency to pick up a book, read the summary, asses whether I think I will like it, if the story has indeed peaked my interest I will flip to the last chapter of the book and read it in its entirety. You do not have to say it, I have been read the riot act countless times, it’s a horrible thing to do, but I just need to know how the story will end.

I have purchased countless books in the past without looking over the book very closely, gone home and after reading the first chapter, have put the book down never to read another page.

As I mentioned earlier, I rarely do the unthinkable anymore thanks to websites like Goodreads and Amazon.com, but I did do it for a very long time and I can own up to it.

Muse with Me

