Friday Finds (1)

I was looking through some of the blogs I follow and came across this neat meme called Friday Finds hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading

This meme allows bloggers to share with their peers books that come into their possession lately by either being borrowed from a friend or the library, recently purchased, anywhere really. I actually have a number of books that have come across by desk over the last month or so and have landed in my ever-expanding TBR pile. So I thought this was an excellent chance to share these gems with the world.

So without further ado…

                                 

  • Quarterlife Crisis by Alexandra Robbins and Abby Wilner was passed on to me by a friend after I graduated undergrad and have since not figured out the big ‘what next’? I’m not sure if the answer lies within its pages but I’m optimistic it may offer some insight though the edition is pretty old and will certainly not be current with the current job market, etc.
  • On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King was something I discovered in my grandmother’s house during one of my recent visits. I knew right away it was one of her late husband’s so it came as no surprise when she asked me to take it home with me. I grew up on Stephen King and love just about everything he creates. I am really excited to have found this and can’t wait to dive in.
  • Nickel and Dimed by Barbara Ehrenreich was one of those books you pick up after reading something similar and I have yet to finish it. I have started it and I intend to finish it one of these days, but so far it has not come to pass. I’m very interested in ‘slice of life’ undercover journalists pieces and I really enjoy what these people find while investigating topics we often overlook. This one came after reading Slaughterhouse by Gail Eisnitz.
  • The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman is another book on loan to me from a friend. I had all but forgotten about the book until my boss mentioned her Bible study group were reading it. Since that conversation a week ago it has sat next to my computer patiently waiting for me.

Okay I think that about does it for me. Has anyone read any of these and can tell me what they think?

2 thoughts on “Friday Finds (1)

Muse with Me

