Booking Through Thursday

Booking through Thursday is a prompt-style weekly meme where Deb over at Booking Through Thursday writes up a question for us to ponder and then we answer on our own blogs and link back to her.
This week’s prompt:

We all had to read things in school that we didn’t like … but what
about something you read for a class that you ended up liking (or
loving)? An author you discovered that you might not have found? A
genre you hadn’t thought about?

My Response:

This week’s meme is all sorts of fun for me, because surprisingly I liked most of the books I was required to read over the summer and during the school year. To save time, I will limit my contributions to high school and undergrad.

My high school books included, but are not limited to, are:

  1. The Giver by Lois Lowry
  2. 1984 by George Orwell
  3. Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
  4. Beloved by Toni Morrison
  5. Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer
  6. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  7. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller

Ones that I didn’t care for that I remember:

  1. Lord of the Flies by William Golding
  2. Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad
  3. The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka
  4. The Lords of Discipline by Pat Conroy

My Thoughts: I can’t really articulate why I liked some books over others, given my choices. At the time when I read Lord of the Flies, I kind of liked it. Same goes for The Metamorphosis. I think it boils down to where we are in our lives when we are reading these books. Because when the class read The Catcher in the Rye, most of my class HATED the book. I ended up finding a new favorite author. Like I said, it just comes back to where you are in your life and where your interests lie.

I only took World Literature and one Composition course because my high school AP English course excused me from taking others. I had planned on taking others as an elective, but there was never a class available that fit my schedule. So here are my one college course required readings that I liked:

  1. Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi
  2. The Ramayana: A Shortened Modern Prose Version of the Indian Epic by: R.K. Narayan and Pankaj Mishra

There was only one college read I didn’t care for:

  1. Odyssey by Homer
  2. Krik? Krak! by Edwidge Danticat

My Thoughts: From what I recall, Krik? Krak! was filled mostly with heart-wrenching short stories, the heart-wrenching is similar to Toni Morrison’s Beloved. I think  I remember crying while reading this book of short stories. My college reads were all very interesting and important to me in their own way. Odyssey was little hard to get started because of the style and because it was almost entirely action-packed madness. It was hard to follow because obviously I couldn’t read it in one sitting, but when I took a break and came back i would have to back up a few verses and reread to remember where I was. I just remember Odyssey being kind of an exhausting read, I was pretty happy when we moved on to The Ramayana.

Both The Ramayana and Persepolis were just awesome, great reads that not only stuck with me then, stick with me now. I love the way books can do that to someone.

           

Muse with Me

