Stacking the Shelves

STSmall_thumb[2]

Stacking the Shelves by Tynga’s Reviews is a weekly meme where you get to share the books you’ve gotten each week.

I happily contained myself from raiding any stores this week in search of the next great find. However, that didn’t stop me from receiving something in the mail that I purchased last week nor being approved for a couple of NetGalley requests. Restraint is hard to come by when there is much awesome to read and so little time to read.

For this week’s Stacking the Shelves I…

Bought

nightmare affair

Received for Review

joined the circus  sentenced to life  breathless

The Nightmare Affair by Mindee Arnett – This is one of those reads that caught my attention after having seen it several times over an extended period of time. I really enjoy the strange and unusual ones and a story that takes a unique spin on something everyone is familiar with, a Nightmare, is intriguing. I am really interested to see how this mystery unfolds.

That Time I Joined the Circus by J. J. Howard – I originally requested this one thinking it was from another author who’s work I was familiar with and once I was approved for it, I realized my mistake. I won’t let my error change anything, the premise of joining the circus still interests me and I can’t wait to dig in.

Real Justice: Sentenced to Life at Seventeen by Cynthia J. Faryon – Every once in a while I get a hankering for nonfiction. I didn’t even realize there was an entire “Real Justice” collection until I looked up its title on Goodreads and several others popped up. David Milgaard was 17 when he was sentenced to life in an adult prison and was denied parole because he wouldn’t admit to raping and murdering the nursing assistant he was accused of killing. Eventually, Milgaard finds new counsel who believes him and he and his mother and his new counsel get him out of jail. I’m not sure if they find the actual person who did, but from the description it sounds like they do. To be honest, that is what interests me the most, I want to know who really did the crime and how they got away with it for so long.

Breathless by Brigid Kemmerer – I was sure I wouldn’t get approved for this title and when I saw that I was, I did a happy dance at work. The Elemental Series was one of my favorite finds of 2012 for a variety of reasons. And as such I can’t wait to read Nick’s story, he’s the brother that often goes by unnoticed in this series and I am really curious to learn how he ticks!

Thanks goes to Scholastic Inc., Kensington Books and James Lorimer & Company for the e-galleys!!

Muse with Me

