Top Ten Tuesday: The Books I recommend the Most

toptentuesday

Each week The Broke and the Bookish presents us with a topic and asks us to name our “Top Ten.” This week’s topic is: Top 10 Books I Recommend the Most…

I’m not sure if there are 10 I recommend, but I’ll see what I come up with. Many of my childhood books that I adored didn’t make it with me during the couple of years there where I moved A LOT and that still tears me up a bit inside.

1. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chobsky – I read this in high school years ago, after I read Speak. It was so good, I remember talking to anyone who would listen and shoving my copy in their hands. http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22628.The_Perks_of_Being_a_Wallflower?ac=1

2. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson – This book was very dear to me after I read it my sophomore year of high school. I felt very close to the MC and connected to her in a way I hadn’t with any book I’d read in the past. I couldn’t bear to part with my copy so I bought a second copy to lend to others just so I could keep my copy at home with me. http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/439288.Speak?ac=1

3. Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout – After I read Obsidian I was hooked. YA has made me a reader again and this is one of the series that made that happen.

4. Covenant Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout – What I said above, except I probably recommend this one a bit more than the Lux series. This is mainly because I really like the mythology’s originality and I felt this series appeals to a wider audience than the Lux series does.

5. Demon Trapper’s Saga by Jana Oliver – This was the saga that reignited my love of reading. I still can’t believe it’s over. I want more Riley and Beck. This is one of the few series that I read over and over.

speakperksObsidianHalf-Blooddemon trapper's & good omensHunger GamesInto the WildReckoningWanderlove

6. Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins – Read the first book and forced my cousins to read it, too. One of them was indifferent for no other reason than to annoy me, I’m sure. But the other one, she devoured not only the copy I let her borrow but the next two in the trilogy before I had a chance to finish them.

7. Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer – This was required reading in one of my high school English classes. I still can’t believe they had us read it aloud like we were in Elementary school. But no matter, I had it finished the day after we started it. They tell you not to read ahead, but what are they going to do if you do? Seriously. It was so sad, but so meaningful. This book and Catcher in the Rye were my favorite required readings and both had a significant impact on me.

8. Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman – My bff found this book at the bookstore one day, read it and then shared it with me and another friend. For a little while there we read non-stop, mostly gay fiction, and would swap whatever books we had just bought with one another. When my friend who is a huge fantasy fan came across Good Omens, she had the rest of us read it. I still recommend people read this one.

9. The Guardian Trilogy by Laury Falter – I loved everything about this book, from the idea behind two souls finding each other time after time, to the New Orleans setting. I hadn’t read much YA before I picked this one up and I still haven’t read many other Angel-themed books since.

10. Wanderlove & Foretell by Belle Malory – This is not to be confused with the other Wanderlove book going around. No, the one I am recommending and do recommend is about a gypsy girl and her exiled-royal gypsy man, well that’s what the first one is about. The companion expands on the first one and is just as fun, though I do recommend the first one more often.

Okay, your turn! What do you find you recommend the most?

Muse with Me

