Top Ten Tuesday + Teaser Tuesday

tte

Teaser Tuesdays is hosted by Should Be Reading each week as a way for participants to “tease” their audience with two sentences from a book they are reading.

if you stay“No wonder Pax is damaged. No. Fucking. Wonder.

~ If You Stay by Courtney Cole

Considering I was thinking of DNF’ing this, I would say this teaser was effective in piquing my interest enough to want to know what this means.

toptentuesday

Each week The Broke and the Bookish presents us with a topic and asks us to name our “Top Ten.” This week’s topic is: Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like MORE/LESS Than I Did

I don’t know if I’ll get to 10, but I’ll see what I can put together…

More

1. Everneath by Jodi Ashton – I was kind of blown away by Everneath and it caught me entirely by surprise. I picked it up, because the cover was pretty but already kind of burnt out on YA and not even a quarter of the way though and I was engrossed in the Persephone retelling. I have held off reading Everbound until the final book comes out. *I’ve noticed I’ve been doing this a lot with series/trilogies.

Demon Glass2. Hex Hall Trilogy by Rachel Hawkins – A lot of reviews were comparing this to HP and while I really like that entire series, I’m not necessarily obsessed with its awesomeness like many people are. So I went into this series with skepticism and came out a believer. The Hex Hall Trilogy is a win, book two was probably my favorite because it was so action-packed and I felt like the third one was more concerned with wrapping things up as pretty as possible… It’s good, trust me.

3. Breathless by Brigid Kemmerer – So yeah I’ll admit it I like a good bad boybreathless as much as the next gal. I like them to be rough around the edges y’know? When Breathless came out and it was in the “nice” brother’s POV I had my reservations. Breathless was freaking amazing and I can’t wait to read Siege next year, Nick’s POV is so unique compared with his brothers and there is so much to love. My only complaint, the novella was way too short 😉

4. Delirium by Lauren Oliver – I borrowed this one from my local library and I wasn’t really sure what to expect. Imagine my surprise when I found to my delight just how awesome Delirium was? Yeah it was like Christmastime in June 🙂 I’m totally bummed Requiem is getting such bad reviews, I am more than a little terrified to pick it up. I’m not sure if I ever will, the reviews worry me that much. Well there is always the movie and while that sounds horrible. I’d rather invest $6 (matinee Tuesdays) and two hours of my life than half a day reading(I’m embarrassingly slow) and $10+ on a print copy.

Less

the rocker that holds me1. The Rocker That Holds Me by Terri Anne Browning – I took a chance on this one and while it seemed right up my alley, I was entirely put off by the strong language and the way the timeline jumped around, but mostly the language. I liked the story, but I just couldn’t get over the amount of bad language that littered this read.

2. Significance Series by Shelly Crane – Loved the first book, and then that was pretty much it. Each subsequent book became overly repetitive and I thought that there was unnecessary story arcs. If it had been a book less and more to the point I would have most likely enjoyed this series way more than I did.

3. Devoured Trilogy  by Shelly Crane – I had just finished Significance and IDevour was convinced I’d like this one by the same author, just as much. Unfortunately, this trilogy did the same thing the previous series did which was repeat every way too much. The common denominator is that the first one starts out really strong and amazing and then the rest fall short.

4. Cursed by Jennifer Armentrout – Okay who doesn’t love JLA? I am one of the few, one of the proud, but Cursed just didn’t do it for me as much as her other works. I figured out the big reveal very early one, the similarities to X-Men? Yeah it just wasn’t as “AMAZEBALLS” as her other stuff.

5. Every Day by David Levithan – I’m going to have a review up for this one, soon. I’m embarrassed to say I didn’t like this one as much as I thought I would, as much as I thought I should. Given the sheer love for this author and everything he churns out, I was a little surprised by my reaction too. I think a lot of this had to do with the simplicity and depth (yes I realize those two cannot be used to describe the same thing). Compared with most of everything else I’d read, it just didn’t pack the punch I’d grown accustomed to.

6. Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi – This one I was seriously annoyed with for the majority of this book. Which I found really surprising because this was the kind of read I thought I would love. And by the end I did like it a lot, but for most of this book I was not a fan. I think I’m in the minority on this one, but yeah.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday + Teaser Tuesday

Muse with Me

