Through The Ever Night: A Review

through the ever night

Title: Through The Ever Night

Author: Veronica Rossi

Source: On Loan from Library

Edition: Hardcover, 352 Pages

Genre: Dystopian, Fantasy

Publisher: Harper Collins

Published Date: January 8, 2013

My Rating: 4parachutes

________________________________________________________________________________________

From Goodreads:

It’s been months since Aria last saw Perry. Months since Perry was named Blood Lord of the Tides, and Aria was charged with an impossible mission. Now, finally, they are about to be reunited. But their reunion is far from perfect. The Tides don’t take kindly to Aria, a former Dweller. And with the worsening Aether storms threatening the tribe’s precarious existence, Aria begins to fear that leaving Perry behind might be the only way to save them both. Threatened by false friends, hidden enemies, and powerful temptations, Aria and Perry wonder,Can their love survive through the ever night? In this second book in her spellbinding Under the Never Sky trilogy, Veronica Rossi combines fantasy and dystopian elements to create a captivating love story as perilous as it is unforgettable.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Dates Read: April 27 – May 7, 2013

What a ride Through the Ever Night was, amiright? I definitely thought it was going to end a whole other way. This is a good thing, because how it actually ended was 100x better than how I imagined it ending. I was speculating right before putting this review together that Rossi must not be too fond of cliffhangers either, because both books in this trilogy have ended in a way that doesn’t make us want to tear our hair out.

The second book in this trilogy backs up a little bit from where Under the Never Sky ends and picks up in Peregrine’s POV. I laugh a little every time I think about Reef and his grasp on time, because really Perry did you think Reef would give you enough time to do all that? You can’t see me, obviously, but I’m smiling while writing this. Perry is just so darn adorable.

If you recall my review from Under the Never Sky I had an easy of enough time getting into the story, but I was having difficulty keeping my attention on the book as the story waned on. This happened again, almost at exactly the same point in Through the Ever Night. I jumped right in and then a fourth of the way in and I was bored. I found myself doing exactly what I did in UtNS, which was to read ahead then circle back.

I’m not sure why the pacing in these books do this me, because I really do enjoy them. I just get a little frustrated I guess during the slow parts.

Peregrine, has become one of my favorite male characters and I’m not really sure when that happened. I liked him okay in UtNS and then WHAM! I was all about Perry and how everything was affecting him.

Roar, steals the scene every time. If they make this trilogy a movie, which I could easily see and deem it successful because of its broad appeal btw. Whoever plays Roar has to kick some major hiney otherwise the entire thing will fail. Roar rocks and I love love love that we got to see so much of him in this installment!

Aria, who? Just kidding, kinda… I mean after the above two she really didn’t leave as much of an impression on me this time. I was impressed by her new kinda, sorta friendship with certain folks. I thought the entire thing took major guts on her part. I think ultimately the third novel is moving towards a “united we stand, divided we fall” kind of finale which would explain all of that.

This installment is more meat than romance and I think that might be why I liked this one better. One of my biggest issues with UtNS was I felt the romance was rushed and seemed to come out of nowhere. Going into TtEN I had come to terms with the romance and I was happy with where Perry and Aria stood in this novel. I didn’t want to see anything crazy like an unnecessary love triangle.

Despite some issues I had with pacing closer to the start of the novel, fans of UtNS will not be disappointed with this follow-up. Some, myself included, might even like TtEN more than its predecessor.

4 thoughts on “Through The Ever Night: A Review

  1. I absolutely LOVED this sequel, definitely more than I enjoyed UtNS. I loved Aria’s growth since book one, and that even though the romance was put on the backburner for more pressing issues, it was a huge driving force behind a lot of their actions. And poor Roar. Can’t we just give the kid a break!?

Muse with Me

