Something to Muse Over: I want it and I want it now!

MuseMondayFeature

Haven’t done one of these is long time huh? Well I made the decision not to push myself with these. If a topic comes up that I’d like to muse over, I will. If not, I won’t.

This week I am musing over my inability to wait until the book I pre-ordered gets to my mailbox.

As soon as the Friday before a book is due out comes around I am browsing Barnes & Noble for the chance they put the book out early. I do this even when I already have a copy in the mail. I can’t wait, I need to get my hands on the book right away. Something about just knowing the book could be/is out there propels me to look for it.

Of the copies of books I own the majority are final books in their series. I have noticed I rarely HAVE to HAVE the book if it’s the first or a middle book.

Something from a communication theory I read about in a course at uni two years ago forces me to consider this as one of the many consequences of our society having everything at our fingertips. I don’t think my case is as severe as some because if I don’t find the book I just accept that I have to wait and go on my way. I don’t know if it is because I am from the last generation who remembers the world before everyone had a computer and cell phone? Or just because I am simply not wired that way.

What do you think? If you do this too, what do you do when your other copy arrives in the mail? I’ve been thinking maybe hosting giveaways, but I don’t know if anyone would be interested. I’m open to suggestions.

One thought on “Something to Muse Over: I want it and I want it now!

Muse with Me

