Top Ten Tuesday and Teaser Tuesday

teaser tuesday

Teaser Tuesday, a weekly meme created by MizB at Should Be Reading, is an opportunity for bloggers to tease their blogging friends about a book they are reading in just two sentences picked form a random page without giving away spoilers.

My teaser for this week is …

“Though everyone calls me Soap,” added Phineas B. Crow. “Because I needs it more than most.”

~pp. 113, Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger

toptentuesday (1)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the The Broke and the Bookish where Jamie and her co-bloggers create a top ten list for a given topic. Then they ask the blogging world to contribute their own thoughts on the topic.

This week’s top ten is: Top Ten Books That Will Make You Cry. I’m a big ol’ baby these days and pretty much every other book brings out the waterworks.

  1. The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen – because the personal history for the MC was reminiscent of something from my own. The book, however, was still one of my favorite reads last year, I just had a moment where I considered abandoning it for that reason.
  2. Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry – It was the ending that did me in, all that hope for the future 🙂
  3. Opal and Origin by JLA – both had moments where I shed a tear for their struggles, for the losses.
  4. Half-Blood & Appollyon & Sentinel by JLA – this series gave me lots of feelings.
  5. For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund – geez, this was the first book I read for 2014 and just yeah, so emotional, so good.
  6. The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger – I know many folks don’t care for this title which is fine for them, but I feel for Holden.
  7. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chobsky- because who didn’t cry at the end?
  8. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson – same as #7
  9. White Oleander by Janet Fitch – It’s a very emotional read all around.
  10. Peter Pan (all of them) – Every single adaptation of this story leaves me sobbing, always has. I usually try to avoid these when possible.

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday and Teaser Tuesday

    1. I first discovered Speak in high school (I won’t tell you how long it’s been since I was in high school 😉 ) and at the time it was life-changing. Speak stills remains a treasured book I have to re-read at least once a year 🙂

      Thanks for coming by!

  1. I’ve only read one Laurie Halse Anderson book but I can completely understand how her writing can be emotional! Sarah Dessen has some heartbreaking moments and I really need to make my way around to reading Half-Blood. Great list!

    1. Which title did you read? I have only read Speak, but I have plans to read her newest The Impossible Knife of Memory soon. I recently went to an author event of hers at a local bookstore and she is such an interesting lady.

      I really like how Dessen deals with different issues, her books have been hit or miss depending on how well I relate to them personally. I still deem hers books a gem 🙂

      I loved Half-Blood, let me know when you do and we can discuss!

      Thanks for stopping by!

    1. I try to find teasers that make me laugh, glad you enjoyed it, too.

      Catcher in the Rye is heartbreaking and I’m overdue for a re-read! Happy to find another fan, mostly I find people have issues with the book.

    1. Yay another Catcher fan! I need to re-read it, it has been too long. Have you read any of Salinger’s other work? I think I’ve read everything except Franny & Zooey.

    1. It’s funny because I remember being so upset and then I went to a book festival where JLA was discussing the NA genre and she was joking about how she hates cliffhangers but how it didn’t stop her from putting one in Opal. So now I think of that scene and kind of laugh lol

      Okay, I’ll be over to check out your post. Thanks for stopping by Doris!

  2. I cannot even express my love for any and all of Katie McGarry’s books. I may not have put her on my list this week, but she sure knows how to pack in all the emotions in only a few hundred pages.

    Great list!
    My TTT!

    1. Yes she does! I really had no idea I would be so affected, but it’s true. I need to read more of her books!

      Thanks, I’ll be over to check out your TTT soon.

Muse with Me

