Bout of Books 10: Goals & Updates (This Post Only)

I can’t believe it is time already for another Bout of Books read-a-thon! I did pretty well last time and managed to read 3 of the 5 books. I doubt I will be as ambitious this coming week as I have a number of time-consuming engagements, but you just never know. In order to prevent spamming you guys, just as I did last time, the sign-up, goals and my updates will all be on this post only. Also, I am doing the annoying multi-color thing again. I liked it so much last time and since I didn’t hear any complaints…

BoB10-200x200

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week-long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 12th and runs through Sunday, May 18th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 10 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

These are my goals as they stand right now, but things can and probably will change. I will alter and update this page as the changes occur, in addition to my daily progress updates of course. 🙂 Yay! I can’t wait for Monday!

Time Devoted to Reading

I will be reading every day.

My Goals

  • Read 3 books
  • Read 700 Pages
  • Write 1 Reviews

Books to Read

  • Spirit by Brigid Kemmerer
  • Read Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen
  • Read Shattered Ink by Laura Wright

Updates

Monday
Number of books I’ve completed today: 0
Total number of books I’ve completed: 1
Number of pages I read today: 173
Total number of pages I read: 173
Reviews written: 0
Total number of reviews written: 0
Books/Reviews: Shattered Ink by Laura Wright
Currently Reading: Spirit by Brigid Kemmerer
**Notes: So far I haven’t read any of the books I *planned* to read. I blame this in part to my forgetting to pack any of the books for my husband’s and my impromptu trip to the mountains. Instead, I had my Kindle with me and just picked what looked good. Oh well, it’s been more fun this way.

Tuesday
Number of books I’ve completed today: 0
Total number of books I’ve completed: 1
Number of pages I read today: 30
Total number of pages I read: 203
Reviews written: 0
Total number of reviews written: 0

Books/Reviews: Shattered Ink by Laura Wright
Currently Reading: Spirit by Brigid Kemmerer
**Notes: Hunter is a hard POV to read from. I HAVE to know what happens next in this series so I am pushing on, but that doesn’t stop me from disliking Hunter more and more. I hope to finish this tomorrow so I can move onto something else and get some more books finished!

Wednesday
Number of books I’ve completed today: 1
Total number of books I’ve completed: 2
Number of pages I read today: 178
Total number of pages I read: 354
Reviews written:0
Total number of reviews written:0

Books/Reviews: 1) Spirit by Brigid Kemmerer; 2) Shattered Ink by Laura Wright
Currently Reading: Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen
**Notes: Finally! Finally finished Spirit! Whew! The second half was particularly good, as was the plot developments both for the individual book and for the entire series. Secret and Sacrifice are going to be intense, I can feel it. I already have Secret, so I might pick it up after Lock and Key and finish the week up with The Song Will Save Your Life. I’ve got four days, I can totally do this. 

Thursday
Number of books I’ve completed today: 0
Total number of books I’ve completed: 2
Number of pages I read today: 175
Total number of pages I read: 529
Reviews written: 0
Total number of reviews written: 0

Books/Reviews: 1) Spirit by Brigid Kemmerer; 2) Shattered Ink by Laura Wright
Currently Reading: Lock & Key by Sarah Dessen
**Notes: Pretty sure I’ll be finishing this one up tomorrow, which would be awesome because I’ll be closing in on at least two of my goals for this read a thon if I manage it. The last Dessen book I read, I had a really hard time connecting with, but this one is flying by so there’s a good chance I’ll be wrapping it up tomorrow. Also, I’d like to manage at least 2 reviews tomorrow.

Friday
Number of books I’ve completed today: 0
Total number of books I’ve completed: 2
Number of pages I read today: 0
Total number of pages I read: 529
Reviews written:
Total number of reviews written: 

Books/Reviews: 1) Spirit by Brigid Kemmerer; 2) Shattered Ink by Laura Wright
Currently Reading: Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen
**Notes: Unfortunately, not at all productive today. Maybe tomorrow will be better.

Saturday
Number of books I’ve completed today: 0
Total number of books I’ve completed: 2
Number of pages I read today: 0
Total number of pages I read: 529
Reviews written:
Total number of reviews written: 

Books/Reviews: 1) Spirit by Brigid Kemmerer; 2) Shattered Ink by Laura Wright
Currently Reading: Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen
**Notes: Unless I spend all of Sunday reading and writing reviews I’m definitely not going to meet my goals 😦 It’s not Lock and Key’s fault, I knew I wouldn’t have much time for reading yesterday and today. My plan is to finish up Lock and Key tomorrow and write-up/post 1 review. The weather says it’ll be raining all day tomorrow, perfect reading weather 🙂

Sunday
Number of books I’ve completed today: 1
Total number of books I’ve completed: 3!
Number of pages I read today: 247
Total number of pages I read: 776
Reviews written: 0
Total number of reviews written: 0

Books/Reviews: 1) Spirit by Brigid Kemmerer – Hardest book to get through in this series yet! 2) Shattered Ink by Laura Wright – Surprisingly fleshed out for only 50-something pages! 3) Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen – Found a number of awesome quotes for my review, L&K is a another Dessen success IMO 🙂 🙂
**Notes: Could I have dedicated more time to read? Probably. Perhaps picked more fast-paced books? Definitely. I didn’t meet any of my original goals, but the headway I made this week wasn’t too shabby if I do say so myself. Until next time!

7 thoughts on “Bout of Books 10: Goals & Updates (This Post Only)

    1. Me too, I didn’t realize it was so emotional though. Just to be safe I’ll have a lighter book to follow it up with.

      Thanks and good luck to you!

Muse with Me

