Stacking the Shelves + Week in Review

STSmall_thumb[2]

Stacking the Shelves by Tynga’s Reviews is a weekly meme where you get to share the books you’ve received recently. As usual book covers/hyperlinks will take you to their respective Goodreads’ page.

 These books are due this week and therefore are going to be read first.

20140731_111448

  1. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige
    -I wanted to read this after the first time I heard about it. Now I have it and I’m not sure anymore. I mean the whole Dorothy-as-a-villain premise sounds pretty awesome. However, I know reviews haven’t been stellar and I wouldn’t want any of that to influence my own opinion. I might just wait a bit longer and borrow it sometime in the future. Not entirely sure yet.
  2. Crash Into You by Katie McGarry
    – So I already started this and while the author says you can read these separately, there are some things that occur in Dare You To that Isaiah refers to at the start of Crash Into You. I’m just letting you know in case you plan to read these out-of-order like I am and don’t want to know what happens.
  3. These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
    – This book has been on my peripheral for over a year and now all of a sudden people can’t stop talking about it (A/N: I finally figured out it’s because the sequel is due later this year). It sounds like something I like. Everyone says it’s Titanic in space, color me intrigued.

This stack I picked up this past week.

20140731_111509

  1. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz
    – This one and the graphic novels I picked up because of the booktube community raving about them. In their defense they do sound really great and if they hadn’t I wouldn’t have reserved them at the library.
  2. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
    – A town where people can hear each other’s thoughts. I started this yesterday and I was laughing so hard at the dog, because apparently dog’s thoughts can also be heard.  The protagonist Todd finds an area of town where there is complete silence and then he discovers the town’s secret or something and has to escape. That may not be an accurate description, sorry.
  3. Boxers & Saints by Gene Luen Yang
    – If you don’t follow booktubers it’s probably a good thing, because ever since I started watching a few channels my TBR has been growing exponentially.  (If you want to start watching though, drop me a line and I can rec’d my faves 😀 ) I used to like graphic novels and manga, but I haven’t really picked any up for a while. This is magical realism and the Boxer Rebellion all rolled into one.

 

Week in Review

Tuesday…

Wednesday…

Thursday…

Friday… Countdown Survey

Saturday…

Sunday…

Monday… Stacking the Shelves and Week in Review*

Notes:

*Normally I post StS on Sunday but it slipped my mind even though it was already all written out. That’s what I get trying to schedule posts. I hope I do better this week.

Anyone else think this summer flew by? I was babysitting quite a bit these past few weeks, hosted my nieces this weekend for a sleepover and now everyone is back to school. I’ll miss seeing all the darlings but I think this is probably for the best. I really need to join the land of the full-time employed. So that’s what I’ll be doing besides reading Opposition (OMG yay this book is finally coming out TOMORROW!!) this coming week!

I also have a few reviews and other posts set for this week. Before I go, I just want everyone to know I am seriously dedicated to breathing life back into this blog. I’ve missed all of you guys and being here.

 

 

 

What did you stack the shelves with this past week? Anything from my haul you recommend I pick up first?

One thought on “Stacking the Shelves + Week in Review

Muse with Me

