Thursday Thoughts: My Favorite Bookstore

Thursday Thoughts

Thursday Thoughts is hosted over at Ok, Let’s Read by Ashley. Each week Ashley presents a bookish topic for everyone to share their thoughts on. I was excited to find this meme because I can’t always come up with a discussion point every week on my own, now I don’t have to.

***

I discovered this meme at the beginning of the summer and I’ve been meaning to participate ever since.

This week’s bookish prompt:  My Favorite Bookstore (When it comes to buying books which store is your favorite? Do you prefer big chain stores or independent bookstores? Do you even have any independent bookstores near where you live? And, here’s the one that’s going to be the most revealing; How often would you say you go to the bookstore? Do you buy something every time you go there?)

Okay so here’s the deal, when I first purchased my first Kindle I purchased eBooks using Amazon. After two and a half years of blogging, some trial and error, I have enjoyed purchasing books from Barnes and Nobles. I do not buy from them online as I have only had awful experience after terrible experience and will never attempt a third.

However, going into the brick-and-mortar is different altogether. The store by me has a wide variety of popular titles.  I am a member at B&N, too, and the discounts and sales keep me coming back. I also like their organization. I shop occasionally at Books-a-Million when I am visiting my SIL and I get so irritated by their shelves. Most of the time you can’t find something because books are not where they’re supposed to be.

One of my favorite mood lifters is to go and browse, even when I’m not going to buy anything. I can usually stay busy inside one of these stores for at least an hour, though typically longer than that.

I would say I almost always buy something at Barnes and Noble’s when I go. I went earlier this week and picked up a copy of Opposition. I probably shop at B&N twice a month, sometimes more sometimes less,.

I do have some independent stores I love to go to for events. My two favorites have hosted some incredible author events. When they are hosting an author or a book tour I am interested in, I try to attend. I have met Jennifer Armentrout and Wendy Higgins at the Foxtale Book Shoppe and Laurie Halse Anderson at Little Shop of Stories so far. Each experience was phenomenal and I thoroughly enjoyed my time spent at these events.

Do you have a favorite place to buy books? Let me know below!

5 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts: My Favorite Bookstore

  1. All these mentions of B&N makes me wish I lived in the US or at least went on holiday there, so I could go visit one. They sound rather amazing. All the big chain bookshops here are rubbish, they are so expensive and rarely have any deals. I end up buying most of mine from Book Depository because they are cheap and have free shipping. Here’s my answer, it’s all in the second half of the post! 🙂

    1. I’ve only used BD a couple of times, and one of those was when they were having a sale on MMPs. I’ll probably use them again, I really like the sales they have! And they’re perfect for when I do giveaways which isn’t that often at the moment.

      B&N is pretty good, but I miss Borders. When that company went under I was so upset. Borders was phenomenal.

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a link 🙂

Muse with Me

