Thursday Thoughts: Gender Bias & Sexism

Thursday Thoughts

Thursday Thoughts is hosted over at Ok, Let’s Read by Ashley. Each week Ashley presents a bookish topic for everyone to share their thoughts on. I was excited to find this meme because I can’t always come up with a discussion point every week on my own, now I don’t have to.

This week’s topic is:  Gender Bias & SexismWhat is your opinion on males reading books “geared towards women” such as YA contemporary, romance, most new adult, etc? In that same vein, what’s your opinion on females reading comics and graphic novels? Do you agree that sexism, or at least gender bias’, are apparent in today’s bookish world? Are you someone who “breaks” these bias’?

Love this week’s topic.

Gosh. Okay well I think the gender bias and sexism isn’t as bad for women reading comics and graphic novels. I mean it’s still definitely there, but I feel like there is a bigger bias and sexism towards males reading books like YA contemporary, romance and most NA.

My opinion is that it is beyond dumb in its ridiculousness. People can read what they want and they shouldn’t feel any sort of pressure to do otherwise! I really don’t want to get into a big debate on the culture we live in because that’s a big part as to why things such as gender bias and sexism exist in the bookish world.

Everything is definitely improving and there are places where this is mostly, if not completely nonexistent. I, unfortunately, do not live in one of those places. However, I am proud to say I am a “bias breaker”! I mean I get looks sometimes when I’m in the comics section at 2nd & Charles but for the most part it’s no big deal.

Maybe if I were older I would stand out more or something, who knows. I think more than anything the bookish world is still run by an older generation and it is that generation that perpetuates these kinds of things. When people from the millennial generation get into these seats of power ( ;p ) I figure these kinds of things will be a thing of the past.

What do you think? Do you agree or disagree with this topic? With me? You won’t hurt my feelings either way, promise. Sound off in the comment section and let’s discuss!

One thought on “Thursday Thoughts: Gender Bias & Sexism

Muse with Me

