Bout of Books 11!! Goals & Updates Page

Bout of Books time!! This will make the third in a row that I’ve participated in!!

I’m going to be super ambitious this time around and try to read 7 books! I really don’t have time for 7 full books so two are graphic novels and one is pretty small comparatively.

I did start a new part-time job this week and next week I’ll still be getting used to the schedule, but I feel ready to do some serious reading. My guess is it must have something to do with the time of the year. Kids are back in school. Fall, my favorite season, is right around the corner. All of this equates to a perfect time to read, read, read.

If you’re planning to participate, too, leave a link below to your blog in the comment section so we can cheer each other on!

BoB11-200x200

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week-long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 18th and runs through Sunday, August 24th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 11 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

Below are my goals for this read-a-thon. Some titles are subject to change. This page only is where the magic happens, er, the updates. This time around, I am also going to try to participate in some of the challenges. The challenge entries will go in a separate post and will be restricted to that specific post.

I solemnly swear not to spam you, ever! 🙂 🙂 🙂

Time Devoted to Reading

I will be reading every day. Most likely in the evenings after dinner has been consumed and before bed.

My Goals

Summary (After Bout of Books is over)

Started two books (Opposition and Sacrifice) but did not complete either. Read a total of 270 pages. Participated in 4 challenges. Visited about 20 other Bout of Books participants’ pages.

I had a few surprise interviews this past week, which really threw a wrench in my reading, but I’m not dissatisfied with myself. I had lots of fun meeting bloggers and participating in challenges. I had never done a challenge before and I seriously wonder what took me so long. It was fantastic.

I will definitely be participating in Bout of Books 12 come December.

How’d you do? Will you be coming back in December?

Okay I really need to read all these library books like yesterday 😀

Books to Read

20140810_120644~2

*Ignore the Denver Broncos paraphernalia, it’s the hubby’s. Mine would say “United in Purple” as I am a Baltimore Ravens fan! 😀

**The reading order is left to right and I tried to arrange them based on tone. The idea was that they would flow one right into the other, with the exception of the first book. I did that to start with a positive, happy, uplifting book. If I started with something heavy like If I Stay, I would never get to reading anything else.

Updates

Monday
Number of books I’ve completed today: 0
Total number of books I’ve completed: 0
Number of pages I read today: 20
Total number of pages I read: 20
Reviews written: 0
Total number of reviews written: 0
Books/Reviews:
Currently Reading: Opposition by JLA (I was only a third of the way into this when BoB started.)
**Notes: Today was a rough start. I didn’t have nearly as much free time as I thought I would. Tuesday should be better. Planning to finish Opposition tomorrow and at least start something new. Also I participated in a challenge! Loved getting creative, I hope I’ll be able to do more of them!

Tuesday
Number of books I’ve completed today: 0
Total number of books I’ve completed: 0
Number of pages I read today: 50
Total number of pages I read: 70
Reviews written: 0
Total number of reviews written: 0
Books/Reviews:
Currently Reading: Opposition
**Notes: This week, due to the rain over here, has not made anything typical. As such, I have not done much reading because my work schedule has been all out of sorts. Tomorrow, I’m off, so read I shall.

Wednesday
Number of books I’ve completed today: 0
Total number of books I’ve completed:
Number of pages I read today: 0
Total number of pages I read: 70
Reviews written:0
Total number of reviews written:0
Books/Reviews:
Currently Reading:
**Notes: Had a last minute interview to prepare for.

Thursday
Number of books I’ve completed today: 0
Total number of books I’ve completed: 0
Number of pages I read today: 0
Total number of pages I read: 70
Reviews written: 0
Total number of reviews written: 0
Books/Reviews:
Currently Reading:
**Notes: Another crazy work day, in addition to preparing for two interviews on Friday.

Friday
Number of books I’ve completed today: 0
Total number of books I’ve completed: 0
Number of pages I read today: 100
Total number of pages I read: 170
Reviews written:
Total number of reviews written:
Books/Reviews:
Currently Reading: Sacrifice by Brigid Kemmerer
**Notes: Switched up the books after I was surprised to get my approval for the above galley. Needed a pick-me-up after the nightmare that was my interviews this morning.

Saturday
Number of books I’ve completed today: 0
Total number of books I’ve completed: 0
Number of pages I read today: 0
Total number of pages I read: 170
Reviews written:
Total number of reviews written:
Books/Reviews:
Currently Reading:
**Notes: Had an exhausting day at two different festivals. I will hopefully get a bit more reading completed tomorrow.

Sunday
Number of books I’ve completed today: 0
Total number of books I’ve completed: 0
Number of pages I read today: 100
Total number of pages I read: 270
Reviews written: 0
Total number of reviews written: 0
Books/Reviews:
**Notes: Spent the afternoon doing things around the house and watching the first three episodes of Outlander. I will most likely read a bit before bed.

7 thoughts on “Bout of Books 11!! Goals & Updates Page

    1. I haven’t read Speak in over ten years, I’m really interested to find out what I think about it now 🙂

      Thanks, I’m looking to do some damage this week with all of the books I chose lol

    1. Oh yeah definitely. It doesn’t bother me at all about not meeting my reading goals. I love participating in read-a-thons because all of that other stuff that goes along with it. 😀 This was my first time doing challenges and I’ll so be doing them again next time, they were great!!

Muse with Me

