Thursday Thoughts: Social Media Prowess

Thursday Thoughts

Thursday Thoughts is hosted over at Ok, Let’s Read by Ashley. Each week Ashley presents a bookish topic for everyone to share their thoughts on. I was excited to find this meme because I can’t always come up with a discussion point every week on my own, now I don’t have to.

This week’s topic is: The Power of Social Media

 Have you ever connected with an author through social media? Do you think it’s important to have things like Twitter, Facebook and Instagram as a blogger, reviewer or author? Why or why not? How do you think social media has progressed and changed the bookish world in recent years? And, now for a fun question: Are there any authors who’s Twitter feed you just can’t get enough of?

Funny thing, I mentioned this on Tuesday, kinda. spn redhead dancin

I’ve connected with a handful of authors through social media platforms. I would have probably made many more connections at this point, but I don’t tend to comment or post that often on social media. I keep up with Facebook and Instagram and I skim Twitter regularly, but I keep my own interaction few and far between.

I do think social media is an excellent medium for people to connect over. However, there is a line, in my Communication courses we talked about parasocial behavior, which is the on the extreme side of the spectrum I’ll admit. If you’re not familiar, parasocial behavior is basically when people think they know the celebrity, like know know them. That because they see them on Twitter, interacted maybe or whatever they’re best buddies. I always found that topic in class really interesting when it came up.

There is a ton of good though. On the authors side they’re getting their readers pumped for the latest work, or fielding questions, sharing teasers, etc. The authors that do this and do this well know what’s up. They know that keeping in touch with their readers is crucial to success in this world we live in. For bloggers and reviewers, it’s a chance to ask questions and peek behind the curtain, if you will, into the author’s world. Building relationships works both ways and with the emergence of social media it’s easier now than it ever was to connect.

I’d say the progression of social media is still in its infancy. We’ve only just tapped into what social media can do for us. As time goes on, as technology improves, as updates are made, we’re really going to see a whole new way to connect. The bookish world has changed due to social media by being less of that stoic, gray building with no windows into something that is fluid and colorful with lots of natural light.

roup jumpSocial media is changing the world we live in and most is for the better, but there still needs to be an awareness. People need to go into social media with their eyes open. (This is what happens when you take too many Communication courses; social media paranoia is a real thing, LOL. 😀 )

Alright, your turn. What do you think? Are you excited about social media in the bookish world? Or are you like me and remain cautious?

6 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts: Social Media Prowess

  1. Haha, I loved your answer. I struggled answering this, and definitely didn’t do it very well. I enjoy Twitter as far as interacting with other bloggers and authors goes, I think it’s very useful for that. It’s a great way to promote blog posts and what you have coming up on the blog. Twitter is probably the one I use the most. Here’s my answer.

    1. Thanks 😀

      I don’t think I answered this week’s topic well myself. I wish I had more to say because I feel like everyone has an opinion on social media but that all I came up with :/

      Yes, i agree social media is very useful for bloggers, too. I don’t use Twitter enough, but I definitely use it more than I used to.

  2. I enjoy interacting with/following authors on twitter, etc, but I try to be reaaaally careful about the parasocial thing. (I have now learnt a word!) It’s easy to think, oh, they always answer me on twitter, they probably remember me, they’ve sent me some signed bookmarks… But you have to still keep a line in mind.

    My Thursday Thoughts.

  3. This is a cool post (sorry for not commenting earlier, I’ve had it open for two days and just didn’t have the time)!
    I agree with being cautious when interacting with others on social media. And while I’m usually overly excited whenever I get a response of any kind from an author, I agree there are lines – like you said, parasocial behaviour is a thing…
    I’m always careful with what I share from my personal life, as well, and I feel that my blogger Twitter account shouldn’t be as “open” with my personal info – I see it as an extension of my blog and therefore more professional.
    Here are my thoughts: http://ofdragonsandhearts.com/2014/08/thursday-thoughts-power-social-media/

    1. Sorry for not replying earlier! I was out of town and the wifi was way too slow to bother with a computer, plus you know vacation 🙂

      That’s a really good point. I actually struggled at first trying to keep the various social mediums professional and even though I’ve made lots of changes they’re still a work in progress!

Muse with Me

