Thursday Thoughts: Cover Changes!

Thursday Thoughts

Thursday Thoughts is hosted over at Ok, Let’s Read by Ashley. Each week Ashley presents a bookish topic for everyone to share their thoughts on. I was excited to find this meme because I can’t always come up with a discussion point every week on my own, now I don’t have to.

This week’s topic is: Cover Changes – (Are you someone who likes your books to look very uniform or do you usually not care too much about that? How do you react when there’s a cover change in the middle of a series? What are your opinions on movie-tie-in covers with the actors from the movie adaptation? Which book covers are your favorites?)

Cover changes are an interesting topic, for me it is because my thoughts have changed so much since I started blogging.

I never used to care if the covers matched. I had hard and soft covers, new and old versions side-by-side. Now I want them to match. I think a lot of it has to do with my shelves and the need to make everything look just so. This has also stemmed from me being unemployed for 5 months and making me slightly OCD about everything in the house.

My reaction to a cover change to a series that is already out is that honestly it never bothered me… until the release of Opposition by JLA. Four books in, the series is all already out and the fifth one sparkles! Sorry, I was so annoyed. On principle, I refuse to buy the first two bind-ups.  I wasn’t a huge fan of Origin’s cover but it grew on me. There isn’t a chance for Opposition to do that.

Movie tie-in covers, where to start… Okay, so I really don’t like movie tie-in covers. I will usually go out of my way to find the original. For example, with my Percy Jackson books, the second movie came out and all of sudden you couldn’t find the original cover anywhere. I went on strike and refused to buy the second book until I could find a copy with the original cover. I was rewarded for my stubbornness with a copy at a used bookstore I just happened to pop in one day. The only time I don’t mind a movie/tv tie-in cover was for the Roswell High book series. The reason for that was while I started reading the books first, the show became my favorite, minus the whole Tess arc. And I liked seeing the cast on the covers, now I will mention for those who aren’t familiar, the characters in the book look very different from the actors on the show. The original covers looked like the characters in the books. Other than that, it was a nice change I thought.

My favorite cover changes? Hmm… I like the new covers for the Shatter Me trilogy, I also like the Throne of Glass covers, and the Stephanie Perkins books. There are others, I just can’t think of them at the moment.

Sorry about the disjointed response. I was excited to answer this week’s topic and then realized I didn’t have as much to say as I thought I did so I just answered the question prompts.

What are your thoughts on cover changes? Do you agree or disagree with what I mentioned?

One thought on “Thursday Thoughts: Cover Changes!

Muse with Me

