Something to Muse Over: The Great Series/Stand-alone Debate

MuseMondayFeature

Something to Muse Over: Series versus Stand-alone

This is a topic I meant to muse over and kept putting off. Probably because it’s been done quite a bit already, but I haven’t done it so better late than never I say! Thursday Thoughts is actually covering novellas this week; however, so I think it’s rather timely of me to bring this up this week. This muse is going to be rather short this week, I had so much I wanted to say and when I sat down to write my brain was empty. That ever happen to you?

Who else loves a good standalone?  I love the heck out of a good standalone! There is just something about starting and finishing a story in one book. That something is not waiting a year before the next release, mostly.  Sarah Dessen (ie., Just Listen, The Truth About Forever, This Lullaby) books are for me some of my favorite stand-alones. I also loved The Scorpio Races and Smart Girls Get What They Want as stand-alones. Some stand-alones I did NOT like are: School Spirits,  Second Verse, or Cursed. (The links will take you to my reviews.) I actually really liked Second Verse by Jennifer Walkup, I just didn’t like it as a stand-alone. There were so many questions left unanswered, threads left unraveled, for each of those titles.

Sometimes I love a series because it means we get to spend more time with the characters we’ve grown to love. We get to live just a little bit longer in this world the author has created. The awful moment when good-bye is inevitable is put off. For example, The Demon Trapper Series by Jana Oliver and The Covenant Series by JLA.

Series are beautiful, except when they’re not. Sometimes the stories can and should end after one novel. There doesn’t have to be yet another love interest or catalytic climax. Sometimes good-bye takes less time to earn. Sometimes good-bye is beautiful. Divergent comes to mind immediately, Delirium maybe.

And now I’ve lost my train of thought. I’m just going to wrap this all up by saying I like series and I like stand-alones. I like a good mix of both because variety is the spice of life…

Yeah okay, I’m just going to go now. 😀

I couldn’t think of more series examples because I am way too easily distracted at the moment apparently, but I’m sure you can. Is there a standalone you wish was a series? Or vice-versa? What’s your favorite: standalone or series?

Thanks for reading and I apologize for my ridiculous musing today. 

Muse with Me

