Favorite Author: Jenny Han

While I am working my through all of Miss Han’s works, I wanted to give a shout-out to one of my favorite authors.

It all started when I picked up To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before in 2014 and fell quickly for her characters and the sweet story of family and first-love. After finishing the sequel P.S. I Still Love You earlier this year, I knew I had a problem 😉 It was a good problem though because after completing the duology I knew I had a new favorite author.

I may not love every book in its entirety but there is always something to love. For me, one of those consistently awesome things would be the way she tells her story, the conveying of the character’s voices and the development from a to z.

Right now I am reading the third book in the Summer trilogy and while I have already been spoiled on the ending I am still flying through. This is a major rarity for me, once I know how a book ends I tend to lose interest instantly because where’s the fun in that? In this case I believe it has to do with the ending itself which makes me happy but also the fact that Jenny Han wrote this book and so I have to read it.

I love that every time I pick up a Jenny Han book I know I am in for a treat, I know I am going to love it. Her female protagonists can be a bit over-the-top but for the most part I think she nails the whole teenage-girl thought process. I am also a fan of happy endings in books which is why I gravitate predominantly towards fiction. Happy endings are not a requirement for all fiction, though I wish it were, so I have been let down a couple of times. This probably sounds like a silly tangent but in life we don’t always get happy endings and for me reading is my ultimate form of escape. I don’t want this post taking a not-so-cheerful turn so I’ll stop there.

Jenny Han writes happy endings, or she has so far, and I love that; which means I love Miss Han and her writing. As long as she continues to write like this I will continue to read her books and she will be a permanent fixture on my auto-buy list.

Next on my Jenny Han reading list is the Burn for Burn trilogy she co-authored with Siobhan Vivian.

Borrowed from Goodreads

How you can find Jenny Han…

Muse with Me

