Review: The Wrath and the Dawn

The Wrath & the Dawn (The Wrath & the Dawn, #1)The Wrath & the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I guess I can be the black sheep on this one. I’m not a fan. There I said it. That’s not to say that others won’t be. I just think I didn’t click with this book the way others have. The writing is beautiful and the author does an exceptional job. I would read her next series. Just probably not the sequel to this duology.

I kept waiting for a huge climax and I don’t feel like there ever was one, not really. By the end of the book the only storyline I was interested in following was her father’s and maybe the handmaiden’s.

This was an audiobook listen for me and that might be part of why I didn’t like this book so much. I struggled with this narrator because she was one narrator for both the female and male POVs and she didn’t differentiate. So most of the time I didn’t know who was narrating right away. However, there was a major pro in all of this, having a narrator correctly pronounce the names and the clothing and the weaponry, instead of me reading and guessing and hoping I’m saying it right, was really nice.

I’m giving this 3 stars because I think it has many strengths and that the things I consider a negative might be specific to me and my individual tastes/preferences.

View all my reviews

Muse with Me

