Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

Saint AnythingSaint Anything by Sarah Dessen

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

4.5 stars, officially.

I took away half a star because I felt the ending was a bit rushed.

Overall Thoughts

While listening to this on audio, I came to the realization that you either love or hate the MC in these books. Fortunately, I loved Sydney. Sydney was honest and didn’t play the pity card, which is something that drives me crazy in this genre. She was stronger than she realized and I enjoyed her character’s development throughout the story. Sydney’s friends were also great, something that is usually par for the course in the Dessen-verse; however, I think Sydney hit the lottery with her group of friends in Saint Anything. The romance took a backseat to the larger story, another big + IMO. Another high point for me is that there were darker themes that were addressed in this Dessen novel and I was so ready for something edgier from one of my favorite contemporary authors.

Like I mentioned earlier, I do feel as though the ending was a bit rushed. Dessen literally squeezed the ending for every single storyline into the last 30 minutes of the audio book. While I appreciated the lack of loose ends, I would have liked to see some of the things she spoke about in the final part of the book actually occur. I think there was a missed opportunity wrapping some of those storylines up in mass like she did.

Notes on Narration

Narration by Taylor Meskimen
Okay, so I’ll be honest, Dessen has had some whoppers for narrators. In the past, I’ve listened to about the 50% mark then grabbed the physical book with several of her narrators. Thankfully, Meskimen was NOT one of these. She did a great job with the individual voices and did not have any irritating tics. Her pace was also done very well.

Recommended

This is not your typical contemporary from Sarah Dessen and while there are mixed reviews out there, I loved Saint Anything and the darker themes. I was ready for Dessen to tackle something like this and I think she did a great job. Yes, I would recommend Saint Anything, but to older teens and above.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

Muse with Me

