Muse with Me: When Reading Tastes Change

Okay, so let’s take a trip back in time. Follow me….

Our first stop…Tiffany in middle school loved to read books by Melinda Metz, including Roswell and Fingerpints; as well as, the likes of Everworld, Animorphs, Goosebumps, Nancy Drew and the Betsy and Tacy series.

Then, when Tiffany went to high school her favorite books included anything by J.D. Salinger, a gripping biography, WWII or Titanic themed books, historical fiction. She was also making her way through the popular Piers Anthony sci-fi series.

In college, Tiffany took a break because her life turned completely upside-down. Life. Enough said.

The semester Tiffany was set to graduate Spring 2012 she discovers the world of book blogging and becomes completed entranced by the YA genre where she has happily resided ever since.

I’ve always been a reader, my tastes in the genres I perused changed, I took breaks but I always came back to reading.

When I first started blogging and reading the YA genre I didn’t know what was good, I hadn’t really learned the ways of Goodreads. I struggled. The Demon Trapper’s series by Jana Oliver was my first read thanks to a course I was taking, but after that I didn’t know what to read next. I eventually would find Obsidian by JLA and then a slew of inexpensive indie ebooks, some good, some not so much.

The longer I am in this community, the more my life changes, my tastes continue to change.  I just finished Walk the Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson, a very slow read and I loved it. A few shorts years ago something like that would have driven me crazy.

I’m enjoying where this reading/blogging part of my life is taking me and I don’t harbor any irritation or embarrassment at liking one book over another. I read Twilight during the craze and loved it. I still will watch the first and second movie occasionally and I’m not ashamed.

I am also of the mind, one is not allowed to have an opinion on anything, in this case a book, until they’ve read it themselves. But I’ll save that musing for another Monday 😉

That’s all I’ve got for today. Thank you for reading this post in its entirety. Stay tuned, I try to post Something to Muse Over biweekly.

Muse with Me

