The Dream Thieves : A Review

The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle, #2)The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

How is it that the last 20% of this book is the good part?! HOW?! Anyways, I’m done and I already have the third audiobook so onward and upward… hopefully!

Obviously, I’m still hooked onto this series and these characters. After the rather slow start of the first one, I didn’t expect an even longer, quieter place in the second installment.

Not that it matters. #theRavenCycle for life!

But okay let’s talk about the second book in the Raven Cycle. Some characters I started to care about even more, while others even less.

I loved loved that this book focused on Ronan, if for no other reason than he was the character that left me with the most questions at the end of the first book. The next character who gave me more questions than answers, being Blue, of course.

Also, I dreaded the Gray Man’s sections in the book. Talk about BORING! And then there was Adam who kept on irritating the heck out of me. I think that’s supposed to be the point of his character, but c’mon guy can we please move on?!

As I mentioned earlier, I was determined to finish this book so I could get to the next one, but the fact that it took 4/5 of the book to really grab my attention was actually rather annoying.

This book had more negatives than positives in terms of pacing and in regards to certain characters, yes, but I did appreciate learning more about Glendower, Cabeswater, the Greywaren and ley lines. You definitely get a sense of things building up to something and I mean this author knows what she’s doing.

View all my reviews

Muse with Me

